atap logo

Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs


State AT Program Leadership Symposium

April 15 - April 18, 2018

Mark your calendars for the AT3 Center’s 2018 Leadership Symposium for State AT Programs at the Crystal City Marriot at Reagan National Airport. Following is the tentative agenda for April 15th – 18th with the added ATAP member activities:

  • Sunday, April 15th - New Directors Pre-Conference Workshop in the afternoon
  • Sunday, April 15th, 5:00 pm – ATAP Member Business Meeting
  • Monday, April 16th – Symposium Sessions
  • Monday, April 16th , 5:00 pm – ATAP Reception
  • Tuesday, April 17th – Symposium Sessions
  • Tuesday, April 17th – Late afternoon Advocacy Training
  • Wednesday, April 18th – Hill Briefing and Visits

Watch the AT3 Center Leadership Symposium page for full Leadership Symposium information including registration and hotel information. This page will provide materials and information specific to the ATAP member events (membership meeting, advocacy training, Hill briefing and Hill visits.)

ATAP Annual Hill Day

Every year in conjunction with ATAP’s Annual Leadership Symposium, the membership has an opportunity to spend a day on Capitol Hill. The day begins with a Hill briefing where ATAP members hear directly from Hill staff who are working on important policy issues of interest to members. Following this event, ATAP members meet with their state delegations to share their message of the importance of State Assistive Technology programs and to inform and educate staff and members about what their program is doing in their districts and states.

ATAP Annual Recognition Award

Beginning in 2015, ATAP initiated what has become an annual award to one Capitol Hill staffer that has worked to help people with disabilities and/or the Assistive Technology Act directly. This award is given each year during ATAP's annual day on Capitol Hill.

Check out ATAP's Annual Recognition Awards

A Special Thank you

2014 Special Thank You for Senator Harkin for sponsoring the original Tech Act and supporting it for 25 years.

View a video thank you for Senator Harkin

Upcoming Events

Coming Soon...

Past Events

President Obama Names Members to the U.S. Access Board

President Barack Obama has appointed Shelley Siegel, FASID of Lake Worth, Florida to the U.S. Access Board. He also reappointed Sachin Dev Pavithran of Logan, Utah.

In announcing these and other appointments, the President stated, "I am confident that these experienced and hardworking individuals will help us tackle the important challenges facing America, and I am grateful for their service. I look forward to working with them."

Siegel is the founder and president of Universal Design and Education Network, an interior design firm that specializes in universal design in residential and commercial projects. She has also been consulting designer of the Siegel Design Group, Inc. since 1972. Siegel is a Fellow of the American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) and a member of the Design Alliance for Accessible Sustainable Environments. She previously served as a member of the Advisory Panel for the ASID National Universal Design Program, the Florida Coordinating Council on the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and the Florida Department of Cultural Affairs ADA Advisory Board. She succeeds the late Michael Graves, FAIA as Board member.

Pavithran was appointed to the Access Board by the President in 2012 and completed a term as Board Chair in March. He is Program Director of the Utah Assistive Technology Program at Utah State University's Center for Persons with Disabilities. He previously served in a variety of other roles at the Center, including as Program Coordinator and Disability Policy Analyst, and is an experienced disability policy consultant and provider of training on assistive technology and accessible websites. He serves on the Association of Assistive Technology Act Programs National Board, the Research and Development Committee of the National Federation of the Blind, and the National Multicultural Council of the Association of University Centers for Disabilities.

The Access Board is an independent Federal agency that provides leadership in accessible design under the ADA and other laws. The Board is structured to function as a coordinating body among Federal agencies and to directly represent the public, particularly people with disabilities. Half of its members are representatives from most of the Federal departments, and the other half is comprised of public members appointed by the President.

Shelley Siegel, FASID
Shelley Siegel, FASID
Sachin Dev Pavithran
Sachin Dev Pavithran

Reprinted From United States Access Board:  President Obama Names Board Members

2016 ATAP Conference

2016 ATAP Conference Materials